“I have a friend request from some stranger on facebook and i delete it without looking at the profile because that doesn’t seem natural. ’cause friendship should not be as easy as that” -David Leviathan ‘Will Grayson, Will Grayson’

TA's Teach Humanity

Media ecology is the theory that media not only is prevalent in society but profoundly enhances society, as well as affecting human perceptions. Media ecology also has much to do with the idea of environment, but I tend to focus more on impact rather than something like structure in a short blog post.

 The idea of media enhancing society is something that I question when so much happens via social media. I just read an article about a rap artist, and from what I gathered (I don’t believe it was explicitly stated) randomly chose an address and told his 1.1 million twitter followers to vandalize this residence. With this story fresh in my mind while I write this blog post, I can’t help but deny the theory that social media is making our lives better, or at least not exponentially better. It is so much easier to hide behind the screen as this person…

View original post 421 more words

Leave a Reply

