The long and the short.

Camille Forlano

Social media, in my opinion, craves short, witty remarks which are eye-catching and memorable. This is an important aspect we frequently talk about in Public Relations courses; the ability to stand out among the clutter. This is the same in our virtual lives; we are advertising ourselves in short responses without drowning people in information. In certain situations, it is appropriate to add more information and details (and length) to our writing online. I write lengthy pieces on blog forums and from time to time might have a more detailed explanation in the comment section on a friend’s or others Facebook page. I have a tendency to get into comment battles with people on local news source’s posts and during those situations I may expand on my idea (to no avail).  I send lengthy text messages if I am explaining or discussing something to someone, or I might send a longer…

View original post 282 more words

Leave a Reply

