Instructions and Tips for Transferring Your WordPress Blog to GoDaddy

I went through this process myself recently when I transferred the WordPress blog I created when I took this class as an undergraduate to GoDaddy. It did take some time, but I enjoyed learning something new. At some points, it took 24-48 hours of waiting for one step to complete. Be sure to give yourselves a few days to complete this task. It is not something you can do in an hour or two. The cost of purchasing the services required to complete this task were approximately as follows:

$4.74/month for WordPress hosting on GoDaddy = $56.88 for 12 months
$12.99 for a .com domain name OR $9.99 for a .net domain name = $12.99 OR $9.99 for 12 months
Total Approximate Cost: $69.87 for a .com domain name and webhosting service OR $66.87 for a .net domain name and webhosting service

Here are the instructions for completing the process:

  • Purchase a domain name and WordPress hosting from GoDaddy. The video below shows you how to do it. The video also shows how to install WordPress on your new domain. That is another step you will have to complete. In the video, the GoDaddy site might look a little different from the way it currently looks, but you should be able to find all of the buttons you will need to click on. It looks pretty similar to the steps I completed when I signed up for GoDaddy.
    • Begin watching the video at :56. Before that is just an introduction to a video series that this video is a part of. It really isn’t relevant to this class.
    • At approximately 9:11, the person in the video begins talking about how a page looking like a WordPress blog should appear when you type your domain name into the address bar of a web browser. When I typed my domain name into the address bar of a web browser, my website did not look like a WordPress blog. It showed up looking like a website template. I believe it said something like “My Site,” if I remember correctly. If your site does not show up looking like a WordPress blog, you will need to complete the following steps:
    • If you had to complete those steps for deleting the instant page, after waiting the 48 hours or so (I believe it took about 24 hours when I completed the steps above), type in your domain name into the address bar of a web browser. Your website should look like a WordPress blog now.
  • The next step is to make your new website look like your WordPress.com blog. To do this, you will need to export the information from your WordPress.com blog and import it into your new GoDaddy hosted WordPress site. Begin by watching the video again at approximately 9:38. The person in the video discusses how to log into the admin part of your new website. You will need to know how to do this.
  • Your GoDaddy hosted WordPress blog should have all of your information from your WordPress.com blog now. You may need to change your theme and fix some of the elements that were not imported. Here is what I had to do: My theme changed, and the tagline from the title of the blog was missing. The widgets on the right column of my blog were also missing. Everything else appeared to be there. There are a limited number of themes available in the GoDaddy hosted WordPress blog. The theme I had in my WordPress.com blog was not one of the available themes, so I had to change it. I also had to upload the custom header image I had in my theme, change the font color and background color, and add the tagline back in the header. In addition, there were a number of widgets missing on the right sidebar. I added back in the ones that were available, but there were some that weren’t available.
  • You may have to re-upload all of your images and videos to your new GoDaddy hosted blog and replace the images and videos that are currently there because they will be linked to your old WordPress.com blog. While they are still visible, if you even disable or delete your WordPress.com blog, your images and videos may be inaccessible in your new GoDaddy hosted blog. While it appears that all of my images and videos transferred, they were indeed linked to my old WordPress.com blog. I did have to make this change. I just went into each post that contained a picture or video, deleted the media, uploaded it again from my computer, then reinserted it and updated the post.
  • Congratulations! You now have your very own Website – a WordPress blog hosted on GoDaddy.

 

If you would like to see an example of a WordPress.com blog that has been transferred to a GoDaddy hosted WordPress blog, here are the links to my blogs (please note that I have not changed any information from when I used it for Electronic Communication as an undergraduate):

Leave a Reply

