From Entry Level to Leadership: How to Join a Nonprofit Board of Directors | Rosetta Thurman

From Entry Level to Leadership: How to Join a Nonprofit Board of Directors | Rosetta Thurman.

Students, one thing that might happen to you when you start to work with an organization is that you might get asked to join the Board of Directors, and this post explains some of what’s involved, why doing so might be good for you.

Meta-note: when I post information like this to the class site, I don’t expect all of you to read it.  I hope that a few of you will find it interesting and follow the link, and I hope that is true for all of you a few times over the course of the semester. In part I am trying to model good blogging: find something interesting, blog it (i.e. add valuable commentary), categorize and tag it for easy retrieval.  This particular item I pulled from my Twitter feed, so I am also trying to show / suggest the value of “listening” on Twitter.  Twitter regularly leads me to great websites, articles, and videos.

2 Responses to From Entry Level to Leadership: How to Join a Nonprofit Board of Directors | Rosetta Thurman

  1. Kevin – thank you for sharing my post with your students! I’m glad that you found it useful. Do let me know if there’s ever any way I can help out with your course as a guest speaker or other resource. Your course sounds so interesting on many levels. I was an English major myself and I always tell people that my love of writing has been the #1 factor in my being able to maintain a blog about nonprofit leadership for over 5 years.

    All the best to you in your work,

    Rosetta Thurman

  2. kab13 says:

    Thanks for the comment, Rosetta. If you have other posts you think would be relevant, please send them my way, and if you are so inclined to “talk to my students” I have had guests interact with my students either via a social media platform or via a short video (see the Kate Bladow link under the service learning assignment). I love to help student envision a career / life path (check out my post about “avatar emergency”).

    Kate’s tweet, by the way, brought me to your blog.

Leave a Reply

