Is Google Making Us Stupid? – Magazine – The Atlantic

Is Google Making Us Stupid? – Magazine – The Atlantic.

Nicholas Carr’s 2008 Atlantic article posed a question that we will need to consider in this course: is Google (read: The Internet) making us stupid? Carr is pretty even-handed in considering the virtues of the Internet–finding more information, more easily; sharing it more easily and effectively, etc.. But he and many others (including me) are worried that we are losing the ability to think deeply, and losing the ability to read long passages of text, read novels. He and others are worried about how we allocate our time; what else could have been done with that 20-40-60 minutes on Facebook? Maybe it would have been spent watching TV, but maybe it would have been spent in other more intellectually demanding and challenging ways.

Keep this question in mind as you surf, blog, and explore new tools. Pay attention to the way you process information.  Pay attention to the way you think.  I can say that just in the handful of days I have been working to set up the course site, I feel intellectually energized by all the material I am finding, reading, and sharing; I feel challenged by the puzzle of setting up this site effectively, but I am worried that I am assigning only two books in a 400 level English class, and I am worried that I am have made the course less theoretical than it used to be, more practical in its orientation.  My 2002 students frequently said “This course makes my brain hurt.” If any of you feel that, similar, or completely different brain experiences, please let us know.

 

Leave a Reply

